RWE Renewables

A global player from Germany: number two worldwide in offshore wind power

An ideal starting point: RWE Renewables, the most recently founded subsidiary of RWE, is off to a good start as a globally leading company in the field of renewables. The company comes in as the global number two in the key business area of offshore wind power.

And it is fully geared towards growth: “Size is a crucial aspect when it comes to successfully competing in the renewables market. We are ideally positioned for this – financially, strategically, and most certainly with our staff,” explains Anja-Isabel Dotzenrath, CEO of RWE Renewables. Following the complete integration of innogy, approximately 3,500 colleagues will be working for the company around the world. These individuals will contribute excellent know-how and a wealth of experience from various cultural backgrounds and nationalities, and they’re all excited about one thing: renewable energy. The make-up of the future management team illustrates the company’s diversity: three women, three men and three nationalities from Essen, Hamburg, Swindon/UK, and Austin/Texas are at the helm of the company.

Together, they work on new, innovative technologies, implement attractive projects, and drive the remodelling of the energy landscape, including both onshore and offshore wind farms, photovoltaic plants, and energy storage facilities. Here are some examples: various projects are currently under construction in Texas, USA: the Cranell onshore wind farm, which will have a capacity of 220 megawatts (MW), the 151-MW Peyton Creek project, and Big Raymond with 440 MW. The Triton Knoll offshore wind farm (860 MW) is under construction off the east coast of England. In the Netherlands, the approval process for the Eekerpolder (63 MW) onshore wind farm in the province of Groningen has been successfully completed. Germany’s largest offshore wind farm (385 MW), a joint project with Norwegian utility company Equinor, went online in Arkona, northeast of the island of Rügen, in April 2019. Australia’s largest solar power plant (349 MWp – megawatt peak) is currently being built in Limondale, and is expected to be fully operational by mid 2020.

 

“We are ideally positioned for this – 
financially, strategically, and 
most certainly with our staff.”
Anja-Isabel Dotzenrath
(CEO der RWE Renewables)

Such projects are necessary to increase the production of clean electricity and to drive conventional electricity out of the network. That is what RWE wants, and it plans to grow to that end. In future, we plan to invest around 1.5 billion euros net in new renewables projects each year. Our focus is on continental America, core markets in Europe, and new markets in the Asia-Pacific region. Our project pipeline is well filled. RWE Renewables is the onestop provider for development, design, construction, operation, and marketing.

The new subsidiary not only changes RWE’s generation portfolio, but also – and mainly – the distribution of its earnings. Around 60 per cent of EBITDA (adjusted earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortisation) will come from renewables in the future. “The renewables market is huge, as is international competition. We want to become a key player. That is what drives our entire team,” explains Anja-Isabel Dotzenrath: “We want to be a global player from Germany focusing on growth.”

Three women, three men, one board

Tom Glover, Sven Utermöhlen, Anja-Isabel Dotzenrath, Silvia Ortín Rios, Holger Himmel, Katja Wünschel (left to right)

“RWE Renewables will start as a globally leading renewables platform. We are looking forward to unlocking new profitable growth opportunities in Europe, the Americas and Asia-Pacific for RWE.”
Anja-Isabel Dotzenrath,CEO der RWE Renewables

“We have the funds available to grow our renewables business at RWE. We want to invest 1.5 billion Euro net annually and we are committed to delivering value-adding growth.”
Holger Himmel, CFO

“Globally, demand for clean electricity is growing at a rapid pace. We have the team committed to meeting this challenge – as a reliable partner in the market and for our customers.”
Tom Glover, CCO

“We start off as the second biggest player in offshore wind globally – and want to continue to grow profitably along the entire value chain with innovative technologies and our great expertise.”
Sven Utermöhlen, COO Wind Offshore Global

“The American continent offers excellent opportunities for growth in wind and photovoltaics. We are in the perfect starting position to continue expanding in this very competitive landscape.”
Silvia Ortín Rios, COO Wind Onshore und Photovoltaik Amerikanischer Kontinent

“Our combined forces and our unique coverage of the European renewables landscape put us into a leading position in Europe. With our vast experience in onshore wind and photovoltaics we will also capture the further excellent growth opportunities in the Asia-Pacific region.”
Katja Wünschel, COO Wind Onshore und Photovoltaik Europa und asiatisch-pazifischer Raum

Facts and figures

Solar/photovoltaic and battery projects:

  • More than 300 large-scale PV plants developed and constructed worldwide
  • Ambitious plans in North America as well as the Asia-Pacific region 
  • One of the world’s largest providers of PV/battery operations and offshore wind maintenance

Offshore wind:

  • No. 2 on the global market 
  • 2.5 GW in operation

Onshore wind:

  • Experienced operator in Europe: 2.9 GW installed capacity
  • Strong position in the US market: 3.2 GW installed capacity

 

Interesting Articles

Carbon neutrality
by 2040

Ambitious, responsible, consistent

The goal is as clear as it is ambitious: RWE aims to achieve carbon neutrality by 2040. Which is roughly 20 years from today.

RWE Supply
& Trading

Hub and link between the energy worlds

RWE is a strong partner on our way to a renewable future: we cover the entire range of safe and clean electricity generation. Our portfolio includes conventional power stations as well as wind farms, solar farms and hydroelectric power plants.

This website uses cookies

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy.

RWE Renewables

Global Player aus Deutschland die Nummer 2 weltweit bei Offshore Windkraft

Eine Startposition, die Lust auf mehr macht: RWE Renewables, die jüngste Tochter von RWE, geht bei den Erneuerbaren Energien direkt als ein global führendes Unternehmen an den Start. Im wichtigen Bereich der Offshore-Windkraft steigt das Unternehmen weltweit gleich als Nummer zwei ein. Und setzt voll auf Wachstum.

Denn: „Größe ist ein wesentlicher Faktor, um im internationalen Wettbewerb bei den Erneuerbaren Energien erfolgreich zu sein. Dafür sind wir bestens aufgestellt: finanziell, strategisch und personell“, erklärt Anja-Isabel Dotzenrath, CEO der RWE Renewables. Nach der vollständigen Integration der innogy werden weltweit rund 3.500 Kolleginnen und Kollegen für das Unternehmen tätig sein. Sie verfügen über exzellentes Know-how, bringen große Erfahrungen aus unterschiedlichen Kulturen und Nationalitäten mit – und teilen die Begeisterung für ein Thema: Erneuerbare Energien. Sinnbildlich steht dafür auch das künftige Managementteam: drei Frauen, drei Männer, drei Nationalitäten, die aus Essen, Hamburg, Swindon/UK und Austin/Texas das Geschäft leiten.

Gemeinsam arbeiten sie alle an neuen, innovativen Technologien, realisieren attraktive Projekte und bringen so den Umbau der Energielandschaft voran. Das gilt für Windparks an Land und auf See ebenso wie für Photovoltaik und Energiespeicher. Beispiele: Im US-Bundesstaat Texas entstehen derzeit der Onshore- Windpark Cranell, der eine Kapazität von 220 Megawatt (MW) haben wird, das 151-MW-Projekt Peyton Creek sowie Big Raymond mit 440 MW. Vor der Ostküste Englands wird der Offshore-Windpark Triton Knoll (860 MW) errichtet. In den Niederlanden kann nach erfolgreichem Genehmigungsverfahren der Onshore- Windpark Eekerpolder (63 MW) in der Provinz Groningen gebaut werden. Und mit Arkona nordöstlich von Rügen ist im April 2019 – in Kooperation mit dem norwegischen Energieunternehmen Equinor – der mit 385 MW größte Offshore-Windpark Deutschlands in Betrieb gegangen. In Limondale entsteht derzeit Australiens größtes Solarkraftwerk (349 MWp – Megawatt Peak). Mitte 2020 soll die Anlage vollständig in Betrieb gehen.

„Wir sind bestens aufgestellt:
finanziell, strategisch und personell.“
Anja-Isabel Dotzenrath
(CEO der RWE Renewables)

Solche Projekte braucht es, um die Produktion sauberen Stroms weiter zu erhöhen und konventionell erzeugten Strom aus den Netzen zu verdrängen. Das will RWE. Und will dazu kräftig wachsen. Pro Jahr sollen 1,5 Milliarden Euro netto in neue Erneuerbaren-Projekte investiert werden. Dabei stehen der amerikanische Kontinent, die Kernmärkte in Europa sowie neue Märkte im asiatisch-pazifischen Raum im Fokus. Die Projektpipeline ist gut gefüllt. Entwickeln, konstruieren, bauen, betreiben und vermarkten – das alles kommt bei RWE Renewables aus einer Hand.

Bei RWE ändert sich durch die neue Tochter nicht nur das Erzeugungsportfolio – sondern vor allem auch die Ergebnisverteilung. Rund 60 Prozent des EBITDA (bereinigtes Ergebnis vor Zinsen, Steuern und Abschreibungen) kommen künftig aus den Erneuerbaren Energien. „Der Markt für Erneuerbare Energie ist riesengroß – der internationale Wettbewerb ebenfalls. Wir wollen hier eine bedeutende Rolle spielen. Das ist der Ansporn des gesamten Teams“, erläutert Anja-Isabel Dotzenrath. „Als Global Player aus Deutschland, der voll auf profitables Wachstum setzt.“

Drei Frauen, drei Männer, ein Board

Tom Glover, Sven Utermöhlen, Anja-Isabel Dotzenrath, Silvia Ortín Rios, Holger Himmel, Katja Wünschel (v. l. n. r.)

„RWE Renewables geht als ein global führendes Unternehmen im Bereich Erneuerbare Energien an den Start. Wir freuen uns darauf, neue profitable Wachstumsmöglichkeiten in Europa, Amerika und dem asiatisch-pazifischen Raum für RWE zu erschließen.“
Anja-Isabel Dotzenrath,CEO der RWE Renewables

„Wir verfügen über die finanziellen Mittel, um unser Geschäft mit Erneuerbaren Energien bei RWE auszubauen. Wir wollen jährlich netto 1,5 Milliarden Euro investieren und verpflichten uns, werthaltiges Wachstum zu liefern.“
Holger Himmel, CFO

„Der Bedarf an sauberem Strom wächst weltweit rasant. Wir haben das Team, das diese Herausforderung engagiert angeht – als zuverlässiger Partner im Markt und für unsere Kunden.“ 
Tom Glover, CCO

„Als weltweite Nummer zwei bei Offshore- Windkraft starten wir durch – und wollen mit innovativen Technologien und unserem geballten Know-how in der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette weiter profitabel wachsen.“ 
Sven Utermöhlen, COO Wind Offshore Global

„Der amerikanische Kontinent bietet hervorragende Wachstumschancen in den Bereichen Wind und Photovoltaik. Wir haben eine sehr gute Ausgangsposition, um in diesem sehr wettbewerbsintensiven Umfeld weiter zu expandieren.“
Silvia Ortín Rios, COO Wind Onshore und Photovoltaik Amerikanischer Kontinent

„Mit unserem gemeinsamen Team erreichen wir eine große Marktpräsenz und eine führende Position im europäischen Erneuerbaren- Geschäft. Durch unsere Expertise in den Bereichen Wind Onshore und Photovoltaik werden wir in der asiatisch-pazifischen Region weiter wachsen. Die Aussichten dafür sind hervorragend.“ 
Katja Wünschel, COO Wind Onshore und Photovoltaik Europa und asiatisch-pazifischer Raum

Zahlen, Daten, Fakten

Solar-/Photovoltaik- und Batterieprojekte:

  • Weltweit mehr als 300 großflächige PV-Anlagen entwickelt und gebaut 
  • Ambitionierte Planungen im amerikanischen Raum sowie in Asien-Pazifik 
  • Einer der weltgrößten Dienstleister für PV-/Batteriebetrieb & Instandhaltung

Offshore-Wind:

  • Nummer zwei im Markt weltweit
  • 2,5 GW im Betrieb

Onshore-Wind:

  • Erfahrener Betreiber in Europa: 2,9 GW installierte Kapazität
  • Starke Position im US-Markt: 3,2 GW installierte Kapazität

 

Interessante Artikel

Klimaneutral
bis 2040

Ambitioniert, verantwortungsvoll, konsequent

Das Ziel ist so klar wie ambitioniert: RWE wird bis 2040 klimaneutral sein. Von heute an in nur gut 20 Jahren.

RWE Supply
& Trading

Drehscheibe und Bindeglied zwischen den Energiewelten

RWE ist ein starker Partner auf dem Weg in eine erneuerbare Zukunft, der das ganze Feld der sicheren und sauberen Stromerzeugung abdeckt. Mit flexiblen konventionellen Kraftwerken ebenso wie mit Windparks, Solaranlagen und Wasserkraftwerken.

Diese Webseite nutzt Cookies

Diese Webseite nutzt Cookies zur Verbesserung des Erlebnisses unserer Besucher. Indem Sie weiterhin auf dieser Webseite navigieren, erklären Sie sich mit unserer Verwendung von Cookies einverstanden.